For someone holding a full time job, the online data science programmes worth shortlisting in India run from ₹53,100 to ₹3,99,000, and only four of the twelve below publish how many hours a week they expect from you. Intellipaat states about 8 hours, AnalytixLabs 8 to 10, upGrad’s Executive PG Certificate 12 to 15. The rest give you a duration in months and leave the weekly load for you to discover after you have paid.
That is the number that decides whether you finish, so this compares twelve programmes on it, alongside whether classes are live or recorded, whether a weekend batch exists, and what you get by way of a capstone and a mentor.
Twelve online programmes, compared on the working week
Read the fourth column first. Where it says “not stated”, the provider has not committed to a weekly time cost anywhere on its own page, and you should ask admissions for it in writing before paying.
| Programme | Live or recorded | Duration | Hours a week, as published | Weekend batch | Capstone and mentorship | Listed fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SkilloVilla Data Science & AI | Live online | About 8 months | Not published | Not published | Real projects, 1:1 mentorship from working professionals | ₹1,01,999, currently ₹89,999 |
| Intellipaat data science course with AI, iHub IIT Roorkee and Microsoft | Live or self-paced, your choice | 7 months, 6 live plus 1 capstone | About 8 | Not stated | A full month set aside for the capstone | ₹55,005 |
| upGrad Professional Certificate in Data Science and Agentic AI, IIIT Bangalore | Live plus recorded | 26 weeks | Not stated | Weekend-friendly live sessions | Career support, 1-1 coaching, mock interviews | ₹99,000 |
| upGrad Executive Post Graduate Certificate, IIIT Bangalore | Live plus self-paced | 6 to 9 months | 12 to 15 | Not stated | Career support, 1-1 coaching | ₹1,80,000 |
| AnalytixLabs Data Science Certification | Interactive live online, or blended | 6 to 8 months, 422 classes | 8 to 10 | Not stated | An 8-week Placement Readiness Program | ₹59,000 live online, ₹53,100 blended, taxes included |
| DataMites Certified Data Scientist | Live online | 8 months, 700 learning hours, 120 of them live | Not stated | Not stated | Live mentoring and a placement assistance team | ₹68,822, down from ₹1,10,000 |
| Imarticus PG Program in Data Science and Analytics with GenAI | Live online or classroom | 6 months on weekdays, 10 months on weekends | Not stated | Yes, a full 10-month weekend track | “100% job assurance” and “10 guaranteed interviews”, their words | ₹1,83,000 |
| Scaler Data Science and ML with AI Specialisation | Live online, three evenings a week | 12 months in the page header, 15 in one of its own FAQs | Not stated | Not stated | 1:1 mentors, lifetime access to recordings | ₹3,99,000 |
| Great Learning PGP Data Science with Generative AI, UT Austin McCombs | Online, with tutorials and projects | 12 months | Not stated | Not stated | Mentorship and career support, no job drives | ₹2,10,000 plus GST |
| Simplilearn Professional Certificate Program in AI-Powered Data Analytics, IITM Pravartak | Live online plus self-paced | 7 months | Not stated | Not stated | “JobAssist” career service | ₹1,19,999 including taxes |
| PW Skills Data Analytics Course, Premium plan | Live weekend sessions plus recorded | 5 months | Not stated | Yes, Saturday and Sunday | Limited support, no job opportunities included | ₹29,999 |
| Coursera, Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate | Recorded, self-paced | Under 6 months | About 10, Google’s own estimate | Not applicable | An applied project, no mentor | About ₹1,900 a month |
Every competitor fee, duration and weekly figure above is as listed on that provider’s own page in September 2026. Fees and ratings last checked September 2026; confirm current numbers with the provider before enrolling.
Three of the twelve are analytics programmes rather than core data science: Simplilearn’s is AI-powered analytics, PW Skills sells a data analytics course, and the Google certificate is an analytics credential. They are here because working professionals shortlist them against data science tracks, and because for a lot of people they are the better first purchase. Our comparison of data analytics and data science sets out which one your target roles actually want.
Eight of the twelve do not publish an hours-a-week figure
This is the finding, not a gap in the research. Four providers state a weekly commitment. Two more state something adjacent that you can work with: Scaler lists live classes on three evenings a week, and DataMites says 120 of its 700 learning hours are live online across 8 months. The other six, including SkilloVilla, publish a duration and nothing about the week.
A duration in months tells you almost nothing on its own. A 7-month programme at 8 hours a week and a 7-month programme at 15 hours a week are different purchases with the same label, and the second one is the reason people go quiet in month three. Ask for the figure before you pay, and ask it as two questions: how many hours of live class, and how many hours of work outside class.
What 8 to 12 hours a week actually looks like
Take the middle of that range and put it on a real Indian working week. Two live classes on weekday evenings, say 8pm to 10pm, which means you are eating at 7.30 and you are not going out on those two nights. One hour on two other mornings for practice, before the day starts and before anyone can take it from you. Then four hours in one block on Saturday or Sunday for project work.
The weekday hours survive contact with a busy month. The weekend block is what breaks first, and it is the one that matters, because practice questions can be done in twenty-minute slices and a capstone cannot. Protect the block. If your job routinely takes your weekends, a 5-month programme is not a 5-month programme for you, and you should buy a longer one on purpose rather than fail a short one.
Two other things eat the week and nobody warns you about them. Setting up an environment on a work laptop you do not have admin rights on can take an evening. And the first month of any live cohort runs slower than the syllabus suggests, then accelerates, so judge your pace at week six rather than week two.
Live or recorded: choose the one that fixes why you stopped last time
Recorded is cheaper by an order of magnitude. Coursera’s Google certificate runs at about ₹1,900 a month as listed in September 2026, and a subscription platform like DataCamp lists ₹599 a month billed annually. Neither carries a mentor, a cohort or a placement team, and neither notices when you stop.
Live costs more, and the cost is the point. What you are buying is a fixed slot that somebody expects you at, a mentor who sees your code, and a batch that moves whether or not you do. If you have already bought a recorded course and not finished it, that is your answer, and a second recorded course will end the same way.
The honest middle is that live tracks need recordings too. A working week has evenings you will lose to a release, a client escalation or a train. Scaler lists lifetime access to recordings; Simplilearn runs live plus self-paced; Intellipaat lets you choose live or self-paced at enrolment. Before you enrol anywhere, ask how long recordings stay available and whether they are the full class or an edited summary.
Weekend batches cost you months, not money
Imarticus prices its postgraduate programme at ₹1,83,000 and runs it two ways: 6 months if you attend on weekdays, 10 months if you attend on weekends, as listed in September 2026. Same fee, same programme, four extra months. That is the trade almost every weekend batch makes, and it is usually a good one for someone in a demanding job, as long as you go in knowing the finish line moved.
PW Skills runs live sessions on Saturday and Sunday for its Premium plan at ₹29,999 over 5 months, as listed in September 2026, and is unusually direct about what is not included: no job opportunities on the Basic and Premium plans, with interview opportunities only on the Pro plan and only after clearing an internal employability test. upGrad describes weekend-friendly live sessions on its 26-week Professional Certificate.
Where a provider does not advertise a weekend batch, ask anyway. Several run one without putting it on the page, and the answer tells you how much of the cohort is made up of working professionals like you, which is worth knowing for its own sake.
The capstone is the part employers ask about and the part providers describe vaguely
Every programme above mentions projects. Very few say what happens to them. Intellipaat is the clearest of the twelve, setting aside a full month of its 7 for the capstone phase. That is a real commitment of calendar time, and it is the sort of thing to look for.
Four questions get you past the brochure. Is the capstone dataset the same one every learner in the batch gets, because an interviewer has seen that project forty times. Is it reviewed by a human, and who. Do you get a written critique or a grade. And can you publish it publicly, which matters because a project you cannot show is a project you cannot use.
The same discipline applies to mentorship. “Mentorship” covers 1:1 sessions with a working practitioner and a shared doubt-clearing channel with a teaching assistant, and those are not the same product. Ask how many 1:1 sessions are included, who the mentor is, and what happens when you want a session outside the plan.
Where SkilloVilla sits, judged by the same test
SkilloVilla’s Data Science & AI track costs ₹1,01,999, currently ₹89,999, with additional scholarships available based on candidate profile; contact admissions for payment options. It is live online, with 1:1 mentorship from working professionals, real projects and placement assistance rather than a job guarantee. Alumni earn 4 to 15 LPA, as published by the company, with a median package of 9.5 LPA and a highest of 32 LPA, and hiring partners include Deloitte, PwC, Uber, Flipkart, Cred and Razorpay. The brand holds a 4.2 Google rating.
By this article’s own test, SkilloVilla fails one column: the track runs about 8 months, but it does not publish an hours-a-week figure, so ask admissions for it on the counselling call and hold them to the answer. That is the same thing we are telling you to do to everyone else on the list.
The limitation worth stating plainly: live cohorts run on fixed class timings, and that structure is the product. If your evenings are unpredictable rather than merely busy, a weekend-only batch or a self-paced certificate is a better fit, and paying for live classes you cannot attend is the most expensive mistake in this market.
If you are not yet sure data science is the right target at all, the analytics route is shorter and India’s entry-level market has more analyst seats than data scientist seats. The Data Analytics with Python track at ₹71,999, currently ₹58,999, runs 4 to 5 months of live classes and is the cheaper first bet. Our guides to the best data science courses in India and to data science course fees go wider on the field and on what drives the gaps between these numbers.
Frequently asked questions
Can I do a data science course while working full time in India?
Yes, and most people on these programmes are doing exactly that. The realistic commitment is 8 to 12 hours a week across about six to nine months, made up of two live evening classes and one protected weekend block for project work. The people who fail are almost never the ones short on ability; they are the ones who bought a five-month programme while holding a job that takes their weekends.
How many hours a week does an online data science course need?
Where providers publish a figure it sits between 8 and 15 hours. Intellipaat states about 8 hours a week, AnalytixLabs 8 to 10, and upGrad’s Executive PG Certificate 12 to 15, all as listed in September 2026. Most providers publish nothing, so treat the absence as a question for admissions rather than as a low number.
Are weekend data science batches worth it for working professionals?
They are, provided you accept the longer calendar. Imarticus runs the same postgraduate programme over 6 months on weekdays or 10 months on weekends at the same fee of ₹1,83,000, as listed in September 2026, which is the usual shape of the trade. A weekend batch you finish beats a weekday batch you drop in month three.
Is a recorded course enough to get a data science job in India?
A recorded course plus a portfolio can work, and a recorded course alone rarely does. Interviewers weight projects, SQL and Python fluency, and how you reason about messy data far above any completion certificate. The practical test is your own history: if you have already bought recorded content and not finished it, buy the structure instead.
Which online data science course is cheapest in India?
Among live programmes, Intellipaat at ₹55,005 and AnalytixLabs blended at ₹53,100 are the lowest on this list, as listed in September 2026. Below that you are into self-paced platforms, where DataCamp lists ₹599 a month billed annually and PW Skills sells a fully recorded analytics plan at ₹6,999, again as listed in September 2026. Those carry no mentor and no placement support, which is precisely why they cost what they do.
Do online data science courses guarantee placement?
Almost none of them do, whatever the headline says. Imarticus uses explicit guarantee language on its page, “100% job assurance” and “10 guaranteed interviews”; most others use assistance wording such as Simplilearn’s “JobAssist” or Great Learning’s career support. The distinction is contractual and worth understanding before you pay, which our article on job guarantee versus placement assistance sets out in detail.
Ask about the week before you ask about anything else
Whichever programme you shortlist, get the weekly commitment in writing, ask how long the recordings last, and ask who reviews your capstone. Those three answers predict whether you finish better than any brochure statistic.
SkilloVilla’s Data Science & AI track at ₹1,01,999, currently ₹89,999, runs live online with 1:1 mentorship, real projects and placement support, and admissions can tell you the class timings and check your scholarship eligibility on the same call. Book it before you pay anyone anything.